Date Night

My husband and I recently went out on a date. It was a present from his parents from Christmas. They got us two free movie tickets and money for popcorn and they would watch the kids.  Well about a month later and we are on our way.  It was really nice to get out of the house without the kids and do something fun.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids but my husband and I need time together alone.

It was a nice evening.  We went to one of our favorite restaurants, Applebease.  It was packed but thankfully we like to sit in the bar area, hey when you don’t have the kids with you… well when in Rome right?  Anyway, we ordered our drinks and just chatted. Not about the kids, or work or our daily lives.  Just chatted, we haven’t done that in so long.  We even played a game together on my phone. It was very pleasant.  I can’t say that enough.

Once our food came we both dug in, apparently neither of us had eaten right all day.  The food was amazing. I had ordered a steak and shrimp, he ordered a burger with fries. Oh yummy yummy yummy.  I even got a second drink for the hell of it.  We didn’t get dessert though cause we knew we were going to have popcorn and a few other goodies at the movies.

When we finished dinner we sat there for a little while, letting it digest.  Then we paid our bill and headed to the movie theater.  We saw I Frankenstein.  It was a great movie, I liked it and would buy it once it comes out. After the movie we decided to refill on popcorn and play a couple of the games they have there.  One in particular we really enjoyed playing, though we didn’t win anything.  It is like those teddy bear ones you see in grocery stores and other places except this one had a suction cup and awesome stuff inside.  I really wanted to Kindle Fire.  Needless to say I was close a couple times but all those games are rigged, I swear.

Well we both knew it was time to get home.  So we headed that way, kind of relcutanlty but we were both tired and I was starting to miss my son. I am normally there when he goes to sleep. All the way home I was hoping the kids did alright and that they were both asleep.  Don’t know why I doubted my kids, according to their grandparents they were very good and my son went to sleep without a fight.

It was nice to get out and I wish we could do it at least once a month and not every six months.  But life, kids and work are our priority. And I am fine with that.  So these once in a blue moon dates we go on are really nice and relaxing.  It also reminds me why I love my husband and married him in the first place.

One Reply to “Date Night”

  1. girlfriend, reading your posts is like reading a diary I might have kept. It is very nostalgic. I get kinda choked up. But that was then and this is now. May you always enjoy the “little things” in life. They are the gems.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

