I’m a Real Mom Now

Some of us have not done things the “traditional” way.   But what is considered “traditional in today’s society anyway (post for another day)? I didn’t wait until marriage to give myself to a man. I didn’t go to college right after high school. In fact I joined the Washington Army National Guard before I even graduated.  But the one thing I did do was wait until I was married to have children (so maybe I did do something traditionally).  So when someone tells me they don’t consider me a real mom cause I have not spent the nine months baking it, well it hits a hard spot.

Two years ago someone in my family told me I wasn’t a real mom cause I never gave birth. Right in the middle of my step daughters 11th birthday.  She later left cause of a tiff with my husband and his best friend.  But what she said struck me, hard. Sure I had not birthed my step daughters but that didn’t stop me from taking care of them. Making sure they had everything they needed, clothes, food, school and discipline when needed (thankfully that was not very often). SO to be told I wasn’t on their “team” really hurt. But then I got mad cause I realized that even though I was married and had everything that went with it I was still considered the baby cousin, and I am not even the youngest one.

Anyway, so this is for all the step moms.  It doesn’t matter if you didn’t birth them. You take care of them as if they are your own. So screw my cousin and her opinion. Frankly I didn’t ask for it.  And I know this happened awhile ago but every Mother’s Day I think about it. I know it is not healthy but for someone to say that is outrageous.  And as a little funny irony to sign off this post… two weeks later I found out I was 2 months pregnant with my son. So suck it cuzzo, I am a real mom now.

2 Replies to “I’m a Real Mom Now”

  1. Being a real Mom is more than baking that “bun in the oven,” and from what I can gather you’ve got the real Mom thing figured out more than the aforementioned family member.

    Keep on giv’n ‘er!

    Like

Leave a Reply

