I kept Monster alive for 1 year so far

I know the title sounds funny. But for me it is a feat. Something I am very proud of. My Monster (my first born and youngest child) turned a year old on July 5th. Last year it felt like it was never going to end. The pain seemed unbearable and somewhere along the way I forgot why I was pushing, I just wanted it to be over. When he finally popped it was a relief. They put him straight onto my chest and my first thought and comment was, ” Ew he is so gross”.  No I am not kidding that was the first thing I said. The second was that I did it, I really did it. I was and still am, proud of myself. Sure being married is great, being in the military was awesome, but giving birth was incredible. Especially cause of the pain we have to endure to get the end product.

Sure the road to get here was tough, and at times I was not sure if I was going to survive. I am just glad I didn’t have to do it all by myself, and I give huge kudos to those who do have do it by themselves.  I did take up most of the slack cause Duh Hubby is a truck driver so he has to get his sleep. So maybe that is why I am a little extra proud of myself. I don’t know. But the road was difficult, though worth it.

I, thankfully, never forgot him anywhere. He only fell off the couch twice and the bed once. I breast fed for as long as he would be nice (which was for about 6 weeks).  I never forgot him in the Jeepster. I did let him learn. I read to him almost everyday, and I am one of those moms who will let him put stuff in his mouth cause I know that is how he learns. If I know it is going to harm him or make him sick then I don’t let him put it in his mouth and I ALWAYS warn people that he will put it in his mouth before they hand him anything.

So yeah, I proud of myself. I am a VERY proud mommy. Nothing is going to change nor hinder that. And I look forward to the next year, and the ones after that. It amazes me every day, every minute of every day how much he learns. He is already talking a little more, trying to feed himself with utensils, getting up fewer times during the night. He is gaining more confidence in walking by himself and he is trying to hard to drink out of a big boy cup, so we may skip the sippy cup stage all together.

I can’t wait for everything else. For him to walk all the time, to be proud of himself when he does something. I know the road is going to be long, and there will be tough times, but there will be great times and the road will lead somewhere. I know this and this is what keeps me strong. And if this year is any proof I know that the years will go by quickly. Bring it on, I cherish him every day cause I have waited so long for him and now that he is here I am enjoying. So Bring it, we can handle it.

2 Replies to “I kept Monster alive for 1 year so far”

  1. You should be proud of yourself – every day! Wait until they’re 10, 11, 14 (and 2 older step-kids 21 and 25)…it’s a damn miracle everyone in my house has made it! It doesn’t get easier, but the memories get better and better 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

