You never know what you have till it’s gone

I never knew I really needed it till I didn’t have it anymore. I also could do the math and tell you what I have spent over the last ten months on laundry alone. Yes the dreaded laundry. In October we lost our washing machine, it bit the dust hard. SO while we were all looking for a new one we were willing to spend money on I went to the laundromat every week. Mostly on Sunday’s but occasionally Saturday’s or Monday’s if I really had to. At first it was fun, a nice way to get out of the house and get all the laundry done in one day. They would be washed, dried, folded and put away all in one afternoon. I became such a regular that the lady who owned the place would let me start my own washers and I helped others out.

But eventually it got tiring. The where other things I wanted to do with my Sunday afternoons. I could have spent the forty dollars on something else, like food or clothes or even gas. Alas, it was always spent on laundry. And it wasn’t just forty a month, no it was forty a week. So four weeks in a month and I was spending an average of a hundred and sixty a month, on laundry alone. With that money it could have paid on medical bills.

Well, about two weeks ago we came home and I saw a new washing machine in the drive way. I was super happy. My father in law is old and so it takes him awhile to get things done. So after going to the laundry mat one more time he gets the washing machine installed. I was over joyed. Finally I can do clothes at home, and I don’t have to do it all in one day. I can do a couple loads a day

Most people would look at me and go “really your excited about a washing machine?” Yes, I am and proud of it. I think we all forget how it feels to not have something. Whether it is a car, food, shower, an appliance in a new apartment. We all don’t have something at one point or another. Shoot, I didn’t have a microwave or vacuum in my first apartment. And boy did I realize I really needed a vacuum.

We all need something we don’t have at one point. I needed a ashing machine at home. I lost a lot of money and time that I will never get back. And sure my clothes all got washed but frankly I would have much rather spent time with my husband then spend four hours at the laundry mat every week. So this make me very grateful to have a washing machine at home. Now on that note I need to go start my laundry.

Leave a Reply

