Fifteen goals for 2015

Most people are going to review what happen in 2014.  I was going to be one of them but when I thought about what I would write I drew a blank. Why? Not entirely sure but what I am sure about, is I am really excited for 2015.  This year is almost behind us, good riddance. Yes there were the good, the bad and the worse, and times I thought we would never survive. But you know what? That is all going to happen again next year, just hopefully not in the same order or with the same issues (otherwise we aren’t learning our lessons). It is those things we take in stride and not allow ourselves to wallow in. Because that is no good for anyone.

So what are we hoping for with this new year in front of us? The possibilities are endless. It is a chance to renew yourself (going to take time but don’t give up).  To inspire ourselves, help others, or just go about our good ole’ ways. But everyone has new hopes for the year (whether they want to admit it or not). I will gladly share mine. There are a lot of little things on the list but hey, its the little things that matter. So I implore you to look upon yourself and see what you can do. Cause we can’t help others unless we help ourselves. Also, if you have any suggestions of how I could go about my goals then those are welcomed. I am always looking for different ways to approach things, livens things up a bit from time to time.

My Goals for 2015:

  1. Produce a routine for 2015 that ensures I get to brush my teeth and hair more often (being a stay at home mom can be rough some mornings).
  2. Put Operation: Get Healthy into play.  This will be an updated version of a prior blog subject, but I will be more dedicated to it.
  3. Write on my blog a lot more. During the holidays I fell off, and realized that I do enjoy it and am determined to get back in the routine of posting weekly.
  4. Read more books to myself, and to my children. We are going to start a trend of reading out loud. We are going to start with The Giver. It will be the 5th time I have read it, but I love it.
  5. Go on more dates with my husband. It is important to our marriage that we do so. And thankfully we have a daughter who is old enough to babysit now, so scheduling them will be a lot easier.
  6. Keep my house clean.  That one will be a challenge cause I have a toddler and a husband, but I never back down from a challenge.
  7. Go back to school. This one has to be one of my favorites. I love school, and now that I know what I want to study I am more determined to get back in the classroom. And I know it will set a good example to my children.
  8. Get my son more interaction with children around him. I tend to not want to go anywhere, and we don’t live in a neighborhood with a lot of children his age. So this means I need to get out of the house more, not just for his benefit but for my own as well. Cause without it I won’t be able to…
  9. Make more mommy friends. I want to get out of my comfort zone and form relations with other moms. It is nice to spice things up and get a different perspective from moms around me. Because even though we might not share the same life style, it doesn’t mean that a solution to a problem can’t work for either of our families.
  10. Get our family dog out of the house a lot more. She doesn’t get to go a lot of places with us. Mostly cause I hate leaving her in the Jeepster and it is not fair to her. So I am going to try and get her to the dog park at least once a week. It will do her good to run around.
  11. Eat more healthy. I know that everyone says this but in order to get healthy you need to eat healthy. And my son is at such a tender age that a food regime will start now and he will be set in it for life (unless he chooses to change that as an adult). So I need to work on it now, that way we all stay healthy.
  12. Take more pictures of my kids. Life is so short, and a lot of horrible accidents happen these days. Also, children grow super fast, so I want to capture them now so I can hold those memories not only in my mind and writing but it visuals as well.
  13. Spend more time doing things I love. I love to read, write and cook. As well as spend time with my son. It is finding a happy median so I can do all of them without feeling like I am neglecting another.
  14. Have a date day with my oldest at least once a month. It is tough being the oldest, everything feels like it is on your shoulders. I want to show my oldest that it is OK to be yourself, lose it sometimes, and also have fun. We used to have so much fun and be so close. I lost that with my mom and I regret it (thankfully that is changing as I get older) but I don’t want to lose it with my oldest. After having my son things got busy and they never slowed down. So here is to reconnecting.
  15. Not be so uptight about everything. A lot has happened to me for me to be uptight. I don’t like it and I want to change it. I hate being the one to say we can’t do something all the time. So I am going to find good alternatives. Have more fun, and try to lighten up on the kids. It sucks being a hard ass all the time when I don’t need to be. So I am going to work on myself, find my triggers and change them.

 

This coming year is going to be a good year. I may change but one thing that will stay the same is that I will always be optimistic about things around me. It is going to be hard work, but it will all the worth it. Why? Because my changes will bring things about for my family, it will make us closer, wiser, and more willing to challenge the everyday life. And not take the easy way out.

More and more these days I have seen that my children do exactly what I do (not always what I say but hey, they are kids).  And lately I have not been liking what I see. In order to change that I need to find the source, and unfortunately part of that source is myself. I may not be able to control the others sources, like school, friends, their father and the media. But I can change myself.

Now I understand why parents are so motivated to change themselves for the better… for their children. So the change is not just for my children, but it is a great bonus.

As we go into this new year let’s keep our heads and thoughts high. Remember that we are all human and we shouldn’t have such high expectations for those around us, because we all deserve the right to lose it, and the more pressure we feel the more we are to fight back (all part of the human nature). Also, let’s remember that life is precious and if we spend all our time being negative then we never have fun and later we will regret it. So as this year comes to an end, I implore you to think…. what are your 15 goals for 2015?

One Reply to “Fifteen goals for 2015”

Leave a Reply

