A Sunny Memory

I was sitting in the Airport Cell Phone lot waiting for a friend and her son to land. As I took a break from my task I couldn’t help but take in my surroundings. The oldest was reading a book she loved, in the front seat while idly munching on some fries.  Monster was in his seat quietly entertaining himself, kind of fighting off a nap. The radio was playing music from ten years ago. It is nice and sunny outside with a slight smell of diesel in the air.  It all made me smile because it reminded me of sunny days at home.

My mom would have a list of chores for us to do, once they were done we could do as we pleased.  During the day she would open all the windows and doors, turn some music on and dance around the house while doing her own chores. I remember seeing her smile while she moved back and forth, tapping her hand to the beat on her leg.  I remember thinking that she looked so happy in that moment. Like she was remembering a memory the music brought to shore.

Now that I am an adult I find myself wanting to do the same thing. And once we move into a place of our own I will be opening all the doors and windows and dancing to music as I do my chores. Brings a moment of peace in this world of chaos.

So as I was sitting in my front seat reveling in this memory I couldn’t help but close my eyes and enjoy this moment.  Because they are so fleeting. I just hope that when my children are older, nice sunny days will bring good memories to bay,

Now I realize that it sounds like my mother is no longer with us. But she is still here. And supplying not only myself with memories but now my children. She is still swaying to the music and enjoying her life, her children, and now her grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

