The Innocent Ones

I have been reading a lot of articles about children. Unfortunately not of the good nature. I read about babies being left unattended for days and dying of starvation or diaper rashes. Of children being left in squalor. More of children being abused and dying of the injuries. And all I can think is “why, why do people have children if they are going to do this to them?”

Never in a million years would I do anything like that to my children. They are a gift from GOD. Something to be cherished, always. Yes, raising children is hard, no one every said it was easy. But still, you hear of so many parents neglecting innocent children. It breaks my heart, and it makes me cherish my children even more. It also makes me mad that someone would do such harsh things to an innocent child. So many couples are out there wishing they could conceive. So many more people out there are having children then tossing them away. Or using them as cash cows to get help from the state instead of working for a living.

When is this all going to end? When are people going to stop taking their anger out on the little ones? The ones who can’t defend themselves. It is a cowardly thing to do, taking things out on someone who can’t defend themselves. I pray that our innocent children are safe, that someone looks out for them. This issue makes me so angry that I can’t form the words to fully convey how I feel.

My son is my world. He is my flesh and blood. I carried him for nine months. Spent six days in the hospital waiting for his arrival. I have spent many sleepless nights trying to get him to sleep, or work out a gas bubble. There have been hundreds of diapers. Thousands of bottles. Swim classes, play dates, naps. All of it cause he is here. Sure there have been times where I am overwhelmed cause I got next to no sleep and he still won’t nap. And sure there have been times where he keeps getting into stuff he knows he shouldn’t. And sure there have been days that seem like they go on forever, but I wouldn’t change it for anything. I have wanted my son for as long as I can remember. And now that he is here I cherish him. I know that he is my gift from GOD. I know that it is my duty to teach him things, to raise him to be kind in this hateful world. I take on this task head on, and so far my son is amazing.

He brings a smile to my face, even when he is being bad. He is learning new things everyday, and he is happy about it. He grows so much that it is hard to believe that he used to be so small. His favorite color is blue. He loves trucks. Looks good in shorts. He is very kind, smart, funny and full of joy. He loves to play with balls, he is getting better at throwing them and is working on kicking them. He loves to swim and is getting better at it every week. I love him so much it hurts. And it brings tears to my eyes when I think of all the babies out there who don’t get the things he does. All because someone took that from them so violently and now they are no longer with us.

Maybe I don’t understand why someone could hurt a baby cause I love mine so much? Maybe I can’t comprehend why someone would neglect a child cause mine is so free spirited? Maybe I can’t, but I am glad, cause I don’t want to be like them. I don’t want to have the capability to be able to do that to a little, innocent baby. It makes me want to cry when I think of all that the cowards took from the lives of children, of who the children could have become if only they had a chance.

Such cowards do not belong in this world. They don’t deserve to get help to “cure” themselves. They deserve to rot in jail and to be forced to think of their actions.

As for me, I am going to cherish my son till the end of my days, cause I love him more then anything in this world. So next time I read an article about a lost baby, I am going to pray for the soul of that baby, not for the coward cause they don’t deserve it. Then I am going to go play with my son and revel in his growth cause I get to be a part of it. Until next time… ME!

Leave a Reply

