Delayed Gratification/Postponement

I have been reading the “Eat it Later” book while Monster is in swim class. And as long as I stay focused on the book I get quite a lot read. The last time I posted I was talking about how the author says this is not a diet but a journey to well-being. Well he is still stressing that, and now we have gone on from talking about taking control of our foods and onto delayed gratification, or postponement.

At first I thought his idea was absurd, then I got worried because food has always been my weak spot. I eat my emotions, I eat because I am bored and I eat simply because the food looks good and it is there.  Well the authors new idea is to rate your craving. He stressed that we should pause, rate, decide.

Meaning if our craving is not very high then we shouldn’t eat it, instead wait until you can’t bare it anymore and indulge, within reason. He says that each person’s rating is different. So pick a number between 1 and 10. If there is cake on the table you pause, rate how high your craving is, then decide if it is high enough to grab a piece or if you should wait until later. Seems easy enough, until you ignore your senses and go for.

Then that is when he tells you not to be sorry. Just to pick yourself up and do better next time. He stresses A LOT that we are not on a diet but rather on a journey to wellbeing. I have been practicing the portion control of it and now I am excited to add another part.  An aspect that he tacks on is that when you wait until your craving is higher than the food tastes better, you enjoy it a lot more. I guess that is the part that I am the most excited to experience. I am still on the chapter about postponement, but it is all very informative and keeps me wanting to come back and read the book.

Sadly, reading the book is the only fitness part of my life. I have put my Fitbit back on and have been hitting an average of 5,000 steps a day. I am drinking more water than coffee and I am trying to remember to eat breakfast, which usually consists of two eggs, toast and orange juice. I don’t want to go on a diet. I don’t want to regulate what I can and can’t eat. But I feel that if I follow what this book is telling me then I will succeed, and I know that I will have to work out in order to lose weight.

Which I am working on. I have a challenge in mind that I want to try, I am developing it on my own so I don’t want to reveal what it is until I get it done and I try it myself, but keep a look out. If it works then I will post about it.  Now that Monster and I have a routine going it will be easier to find time to be active. Whether it is walking the dog or letting him play in the toddler area while I work out. I want to be smaller, I want to lose weight. I just need to find what works for me and go for it.

Before I go I would like to happily announce that despite not working out I have lost some weight. I am now 204.4 pounds, from the 208 I was a couple months ago. I have adjusted my goal weight a little so it is attainable, I am now shooting to be 175, that seems healthy and it is something I can reach. So now I have a little less than 30 pounds to lost instead of the original 50 or so. Wish me luck because I could use it. Until then…ME!

Leave a Reply

