“Scarlet” by Marissa Meyer

I love starting a new series, especially if it is good and I can’t get enough of it. Aside from Larissa Ione, one of my other favorite authors is Marissa Meyer. I first started reading her books when I saw them that the library. I thought they looked so cool with their Sci-Fi looking covers. But I never started them because I could never find the first book. So I went onto my Kindle Overdrive account (a system that you can use through your local libraries to read eBooks or audiobooks) and looked for them. They weren’t available because someone else had them so I bookmarked them. Then when I started my summer challenge with my oldest I decided to finally give them a try. I am so glad I did. I have already read the first one, Cinder, and couldn’t wait to start the second. So here we are.

The first book was about Cinderella, and I tell you what I LOVED it. I was amazed on how the author was able to incorporate the important parts from the original fairytale into her recreation. So of course coming into this book I had the same thought. How is she going to continue Cinder’s story and tell this one? Scarlet is about Little Red Riding Hood and her journey in finding her grandmother. It is set in the same time period as Cinder, with cyborgs and other Sci-Fi things. But Scarlet is from France and she is on a journey to find her grandmother because she is convinced someone took her. She gets help from a guy named Wolf, no I am not kidding. Together they go and try and find grandma. Along the way they run into some bumps and you never see the twist when it finally comes.

At the same time, we hear a little about Cinder’s story. How she escaped jail and is now on the run, trying to figure out who she is and what her purpose is in all of this. Along with her is a jail mate she ran into, who happens to have a ship. On her journey she finds out who she really is and is now trying to deal with it. Of course we get to hear about her Prince as he struggles with his feelings for her, his new job as Emperor and the looming threat from Lunar.

The author did an amazing job of combining the stories together yet keeping them apart. Her words are so descriptive that when I closed my eyes I felt like I was there. That I was experiencing the story along with her characters. It is going to be interesting to see how she incorporates it all in her third book, which I have put on hold at my library so I can listen to it. I hope you give this series a chance because you won’t be sorry you did. If you have a book that you love and would like to share it, then drop the title in the comments and I will give it a try. Until then… ME!

One Reply to ““Scarlet” by Marissa Meyer”

Leave a Reply

