“Cost of Livin'” by Ronnie Dunn

This song really hits home in this age. So many people are out of work, or come off of active duty and can’t get work. The most vivid memory I have of this song is when I was headed up to a training site with my Sergeant. We were driving the box van and he let me hook up my Ipod. I had just downloaded this song before I left my apartment. I like Brookes & Dunn, so I figured I would like this song. When this song came on I saw a whole new side to my Sergeant. I saw sadness on his face, I heard the desperate cry in his voice while I listened to him sing. He is an older man, made the military his life. He was getting out soon due to medical and that retirement was calling. But in the civilian life he wasn’t close to retiring. He was struggling to figure out what he was going to do when he didn’t have to report everyday. After that song I had a new respect for him and for everyone who struggles to put food on the table and make sure bills are paid. I hope you like this song as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

