More Changing Times

I have been going to school for about 2 years now. I have about five, maybe six Certificates under my belt. Ranging from Accounting to Marketing, and I recently finished all the classes I needed in order to get my Human Resources Certificate. I have about five classes left before I am done with my Associates, but those classes are going to have to wait.

Over the last two months a lot of things have come to light. I have noticed I have missed a lot that is going on with my husband and my children. All because my nose was buried in the books trying to finish school. But I missed a lot. I missed all the signs that my husband was beginning to tire of me saying I couldn’t do this that or the other thing because I had school. I missed how stressful it was becoming for him to be the only source of income and all I was concerned about was the next test. I missed my girls getting into trouble at school because I was rushing off to my evening class. And what hurts the most is that I didn’t know that my three-year-old could count to 14. I was missing so much. Sure, it was all for a good cause but I was being to feel the strain myself.

It was becoming increasingly difficult to want to go to class. To care about a class. To even try harder in a class if it was becoming tough. I found that I was putting homework off until the last minute, not because the class was hard, but because I wasn’t motivated to get it done. I realized I was becoming educationally drained. Which is scary for my because I was the kid who cried the last day of school, not because I would miss my friends, but because I didn’t want it to end. It was time to do something about it.

So, after talking with my grandmother (who usually helps me sort things out) and my husband, I came up with an idea.

I am putting school off for a year to help my son get ready for kindergarten and to renew myself.

The plan is still there. I still plan on going to work full-time when Ethan starts kindergarten, I just plan on finishing my degree at the same time. I only have about 5 classes to take. I believe 1 is a campus class and the others are either night or online classes. Instead of being a full-time student, I will take enough credits that I am a part time student. I need this break from school so I can focus on something else for once and so that my son goes to school prepared. At first, I was bummed out about this plan because I felt like I was giving up. But my grandmother told me that it is good to take a break every once in a while, and it wasn’t like I was never going to go back. Now I am warming up to the idea.

There are so many things I can do with the next year. I can help Ethan get ready for Kindergarten. I can finally work on my yard and get it where I want. I can focus on my blog, something I have been missing. I can focus on my Pampered Chef business. But also, I can focus on my marriage and reconnecting what we lost.

The more I think about it, the more I relax and get excited. I love being able to waste a whole day by just being with my son, and if I can help him learn while we do it then that is a plus. I want to enjoy the time I have left with him before he is gone for 8 hours a day, before his friends are more important than me. I am excited about this new stage in my life. And I hope you can enjoy this new stage with me. So, stay tuned! Until then… ME!

Leave a Reply

