Libraries & Books

Let me start off by saying that I LOVE books. I love the way I can escape into a new world where anything is possible. I love how they can help me figure out how to start a garden, or work a new piece of equipment. And, this might sound weird, I love how they smell when you first open them. How the spine creases from reading it, and the feeling you get when you finish a book.

It is always a bittersweet moment when you finish a book. The excitement that your done and can start a new one. But the sadness of when you finish a series and wish there were more. And oh man, the anticipation of waiting for the next book in a series to come out. Books are a wonderful thing.

Libraries are a close second. It is a home away from home for me. It is a place I go to discover new authors and genres. It is a place where my kids can go to quietly play and find new friends, even discover new books of their own. And since I have kids of my own now, I get to discover new worlds with them. My son loves library day because he can go and pick out new books, and the older he gets the more excited he gets because he can pick books about things he likes.

He loves books about trucks, trains, Dinosaurs and construction. I like to read him books about friendship, silliness, and ones that rhyme. I even get excited when I come across a book that I loved to read as a kid, it is always the first to get put in the bag. It is such an awesome feeling to have when he ends up loving the book as much as I do.

My daughters like to roam the shelves looking for a book they can try. As they get older their tastes in books change, so it can be hard to pick out a book for them. But they enjoy the hunt nonetheless. To listen to them talk about a book they are reading is awesome because it means they are invested in something. And when we put a hold on a book and go in to get it, they get all excited speculating on whose book came in.

I could spend hours at a library just looking for books, reading them, and sharing my love of them with others. While we were at the library today I had a conversation with a teenager who was trying to find a book. I started telling her about the different authors I have read and the types of books they write. Eventually we went our separate ways, but when I later saw her checking out her books I noticed that she had two books that I pointed out to her. It was a great feeling when I saw that.

Books are a way to explore worlds, ideas and the lives of others. Is there a series that you would love to share with the world? Are there authors that you can’t brag enough about? I have a few and would love to share them with you. Drop an author’s name in the comments and I will check it out and share an author with you. So, stay tuned, because this is going to be a great ride.

Leave a Reply

